EnergyChemConfsmallScientists and technologists involved in the application of chemistry within the energy sector met in Edinburgh recently for the inaugural Chemistry in Energy Conference. As the UK awaits the green light for two high-profile Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) demonstration projects linked to power generation, delegates heard about the capture technologies that will play their part in the industry worldwide.

A wide-ranging conference programme, which included a plenary address by Scotland’s Energy Minister, Fergus Ewing, explored how chemistry and chemical sciences play an underpinning role in solving the challenges posed by carbon emissions, energy costs and security of supply. The organisers delivered a broad offering of papers from the fossil fuel, nuclear and renewable energy sectors.

The conference was organised by the Royal Society of Chemistry and hosted by SCCS partner institute, Heriot-watt University. Around 150 international delegates from academia and industry were welcomed by Prof Lesley Yellowlees, Vice-Principal of the University of Edinburgh’s College of Science and Engineering, who formally opened the event.

Prof Mercedes Maroto-Valer (Heriot-Watt University) and Prof James Anderson (University of Aberdeen) from the SCCS partnership were involved in the event’s development and SCCS Director, Prof Stuart Haszeldine, delivered a plenary talk on the day.

Papers received by the organising committee illustrated the huge contribution from the chemical sciences to the energy sector – including unconventional energy sources, nuclear fusion, oil and gas recovery, energy distribution and conversion, and materials development – and talks and poster sessions included many examples of carbon capture methods and engineering.

Following the success of this first event, the organisers are now planning the next Chemistry in Energy Conference, which will take place in 2017.

The Conference Executive Committee, left to right: Prof Ben Anthony, Prof James Anderson, Dr David J A McCaffrey (Conference Chairman), Dr Susana Garcia-Lopez, Prof Mercedes Maroto-Valer, Mr John Greene, Dr Stuart Norman, Dr Richard Oldroyd, and Dr Trystan Watson (Mr Michael Harrington and Mr Brian Shelley not present)

Prof Stuart Haszeldine, University of Edinburgh provides a plenary talk in the third session

Events calendar

Media enquiries

Please contact Indira Mann:

+44 (0)131 650 0294

Upcoming events

No upcoming event!