GeoAwards17 2The University of Edinburgh’s Playfair Library provided a suitably inspiring setting for the School of GeoSciences’ inaugural Celebrating Research Awards last Friday.

The awards ceremony has been established to recognise achievement in research across several fields, including polar research, global change and public engagement.

The evening was hosted by Sian Henley and Dave Reay, and began with a welcome from new Head of School, Simon Kelley. This was followed by a set of special recognition awards, including the Head of College Prize for Industry Engagement, which went to SCCS Director, Professor Stuart Haszeldine.

The SCCS Team was nominated for two categories. Indira Mann joined six other contenders for the Public Engagement Individual Award, which was won by PhD student, Hannah Ritchie, while SCCS collectively missed out on the Public Engagement Team Award to the Volcanology/Earth Sciences Team.

The event also featured two thought-provoking talks by early career researchers, Sam Staddon and Lara Kalnins, and the Edinburgh University Brass Band provided musical accompaniment.

GeoAwards17 1b
The SCCS team at the GeoSciences Awards 2017. From left, Richard Stevenson, Philippa Parmiter, Stuart Gilfillan (University of Edinburgh Chancellor's Fellow), Indira Mann, Vanessa Mather and Peter Brownsort

Media enquiries

Please contact Indira Mann:

+44 (0)131 650 0294

Events calendar

Upcoming events

No upcoming event!